Harrow Borough Council Cabinet has been has dismissed and new members are due to be appointed.

A Harrow Borough Council spokeswoman said: “The Council Leader Cllr Thaya Idaikkadar has dismissed the current Cabinet and we await details of our new Cabinet Members.”

She added: “Harrow Council has announced today that a number of Labour Councillors have left Harrow Labour Group to form an Independent Labour Group, with Cllr Idaikkadar as their Leader and Cllr Asad Omar as their Deputy Leader."

Earlier today it was announced councillor Idaikkadar and eight other Labour councillors would split from their group to form their own independent party.

The Independent Labour group includes councillors Asad Omar, Nana Asante, Husain Akhtar, Zarina Khalid, Nizam Ismail, Mano Dharmarajah, Krishna James and Radhika Ranjan Ray.

The group was formed by a group unhappy after Cllr David Perry deposed former Labour group leader Cllr Idaikkadar in a surprise leadership challenge at the group's annual meeting last month.