Watford have confirmed their updated squad list following the closure of the January transfer window, which includes the addition of Adalberto Penaranda.

The Venezuelan attacker was sent out on loan to KAS Eupen at the beginning of the season, after scoring against Coventry City in the Carabao Cup, but featured just five times and failed to find the net.

At the start of the January it was revealed that the Hornets were negotiating the termination of his season-long loan with Eupen after the player did not take part in their training camp in Doha.

Head coach Nigel Pearson said he was pleased to have Penaranda back in his squad and described him as both "talented" and "likeable" but would not clear up whose decision it was to cancel his loan.

"I don't need to clarify anything," said Pearson after about the player returning to Watford.

"He's one of our players and he's back with us at the moment and he's in a training programme. I've spoken to him through an interpreter, he's a very likeable lad, he's a very talented boy and we'll see what happens over the forthcoming weeks.

"Because he's one of our players, he'll be treated in exactly the same way. We'll give him the support that every other player that we've got gets, but there's no doubt he's a fabulous talent."

The Venezuelan will wear the number 13 for the remainder of the season.

The full squad list is as follows:

1 Heurelho Gomes

2 Daryl Janmaat

4 Craig Dawson (HG)

6 Adrian Mariappa (HG)

7 Gerard Deulofeu

8 Tom Cleverley (HG)

9 Troy Deeney (HG)

10 Danny Welbeck (HG)

11 Adam Masina

13 Adalberto Peñaranda

14 Nathaniel Chalobah (HG)

15 Craig Cathcart (HG)

16 Abdoulaye Doucouré

18 Andre Gray (HG)

19 Will Hughes (HG)

21 Kiko Femenía

22 Isaac Success

25 José Holebas

26 Ben Foster (HG)

27 Christian Kabasele

29 Étienne Capoue

33 Ignacio Pussetto

35 Daniel Bachmann (HG)

37 Roberto Pereyra

*(HG) denotes home-grown player.

The following players all qualify as Under-21s and therefore do not need to be named in the 25-man squad:

17 João Pedro

20 Domingos Quina

23 Ismaïla Sarr

24 Tom Dele-Bashiru

42 Callum Whelan