Harrow Council defended the work of three ward councillors after an online petition called for a vote of no confidence in their performance.

The petition, which has more than 500 signatories, criticised Headstone South councillors Simon Brown, Pamela Fitzpatrick and Sasi Suresh, suggesting they have “fallen short” in their duties as elected representatives.

It stemmed from the fallout surrounding contentious road closures Headstone South to form low-traffic neighbourhoods (LTNs).

Petitioners argued the councillors had failed to put forward the views of those living in the area following significant criticism of the LTN programme.

They argued this “inaction” had led to more traffic and pollution along several streets in the ward, which could impact on residents’ health and wellbeing.

“[We] wish it to be known that such a deficit model in the standards of our elected officers is not wanted and should there not be a demonstrable change in performance then they and others that seek to aspire to the privileged position of being our elected representatives must face the consequences in the forthcoming local elections,” the petition read.

However, the council’s cabinet defended the performance of the “excellent” councillors in question at a meeting last night (Thursday, January 21).

Cllr Keith Ferry, deputy leader of Harrow Council, said: “Councillors are elected for a four-year term and remain in post unless they choose to resign.

“The petition was received but all three councillors have decided to remain in post until the elections in May 2022 and that’s the end of the matter as far as the council is concerned.”