The Liberal Democrats were the big winners in London in the European Parliament elections.

The party went from zero to a trio of seats on a night that saw the Conservatives lose both their MEPs and UKIP leader Gerard Batten also unelected.

Labour held the Brexit Party into third place in the capital in Thursdays election - but will share the same number of seats.

The results of tonight's count leave the Liberal Democrats with three of the capital's eight seats, Labour and the Brexit Party with two apiece and the Greens with one.

Irina von Wiese, Dinesh Dhamija and Luisa Manon Porritt are the Lib Dems' MEPs; Claude Ajit Moraes and Sebastian Thomas Dance will represent the Labour Party; Benyamin Naeem Habib and Lance Philip Forman are The Brexit Party's MEPs and Scott John Ainslie represents the Greens.

The full results are as follows:

  • Animal Welfare Party 25,232
  • Change UK – The Independent Group 117,635
  • Conservative and Unionist Party 177,964
  • Green Party 278,957
  • Labour Party 536,810
  • Liberal Democrats 608,725
  • The Brexit Party 400,257
  • UK European Union Party (UKEUP) 18,806
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP) 46,497
  • Women’s Equality Party 23,766
  • Adaeze Chiamaka Nkemakonam Whitney Aghaji, commonly known as Daze Aghaji 1,018
  • Julian Roger Hallam, commonly known as Roger Hallam 924
  • Alan Dennis Kirkby 401
  • Kofi Mawuli Klu 869
  • Zoë Delemere Lafferty 436
  • Claudia Caitlin Mcdowell, commonly known as Claudia Mcdowell 1,036
  • Andrew Medhurst 430
  • Henry Muss 226
  • Mohammad Reza Farrokh Shad, commonly known as Mike Shad 707
  • Ian Sowden 254
  • Andrea Venzon 731