A councillor who defected from his party as part of a split in the ruling Labour group has returned.

Councillor Ranjan Ray was one of the nine Labour councillors to split form their group to form their own Independent Labour group.

It has been announced today he has now returned to the Labour group meaning the new group is now left with eight councillors.

Harrow Labour group leader Cllr David Perry said: “I can confirm that Cllr Raj Ray is continuing as a member of the Harrow Labour Group and will not be a member of the recently formed ‘Independent’ Group.

“We are in contact with other members of the ‘Independent’ Group, who are unhappy at the prospect of the independents working with the Harrow Conservative group.”

On Wednesday it was announced nine members of the Labour group had broken away to form their own 'Independent Labour' group following a rift over the leadership of the party.

Later that day leader of the council, and the breakaway group, councillor Thaya Idaikkadar, dismissed the council cabinet.

The Harrow Times understands negotiations are currently taking place to form a new council cabinet which could be announced next week.

The new independent group was formed by councillors upset following the appointment of councillor David Perry as leader of the Labour group in a surprise challenge last month, deposing councillor Idaikkadar.