Harrow Youth Parliament appoints new chairman

Members of Harrow Youth Parliament

Members of Harrow Youth Parliament

First published in News
Last updated
Harrow Times: Photograph of the Author by , Senior Reporter

Children and teenagers chose who will represent them at the UK Youth Parliament.

The 76 members of Harrow Youth Parliament appointed a new chairman and new member of UK Youth Parliament for the borough at their annual general meeting last week.

Jayh Karia, who was elected as the new chairman of HYP, said: “It is a privilege and honour to be elected as the new chairman, and I will endeavour to fulfil my manifesto pledge by working closely with youth parliaments in neighbouring boroughs.

“I will listen to young people’s views and continue the good work of my predecessors.”

Zak Wagman was selected the new member of UK Youth Parliament, which will sit in the House of Commons.

His job will be to ensure the views of children and teenagers in Harrow are listened to by meeting with MPs and local councillors.

During the election for the Harrow Youth Parliament more than 11,000 young people voted in schools, colleges and youth groups.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree