Labour officially took power at Harrow Borough Council this evening.

The group's leader Councillor David Perry was voted in as leader of the council at the meeting at the Civic Centre in Station Road.

The meeting also saw the appointment of Cllr Ajay Maru as Mayor of Harrow for the coming municipal year with Cllr Krishna Suresh as deputy.

Members of the Labour administration's new cabinet were also officially appointed.

The Labour group won a majority in the local elections last month, taking 34 seats to the Conservative group's 26, with independents winning two and Lib Dems retaining their single seat.