Harrow Labour Party has won a majority in the 2014 local elections to take back control of Harrow Borough Council.

After a long day of counting at Harrow Leisure Centre, Labour won 34 seats to the Conservative group's 26, with independents winning two and Lib Dems retaining their single seat.

One surprise from the day was the Independent Labour group not winning anything and its leader Thaya Idaikkadar losing his seat.

Leader of the Labour group Cllr David Perry said: "We are delighted to have won a majority. A huge amount of work has gone into this campaign and now it has all paid off.

"I think now for us the hard work really begins. There are a lot of cuts we have to deal with over the next four years and the people of Harrow have put their faith and trust in us to deal with them.

"We have a great team in the Labour group and we will be aiming to work with our partners to work for those in the borough who most need help."

The new leader of the council will be decided at Harrow Council's annual meeting on June 12, after which a new cabinet will be announced.

Speaking after the final ward was declared, Conservative group leader Cllr Susan Hall said: "I am absolutely devastated by the result.

We have lost some great councillors and some great candidates missed out on a seat. We can't complain because the electorate have spoken and made their choice.

"It's time for us to roll up our sleeves in opposition. We will keep working for the people of Harrow and supporting them in any way we can.

"However in opposition we will not be able to do as much as we had hoped."